the first time i heard this song was when i had to learn it for a presentation during AJSS (Ateneo Junior Summer Seminar) graduation way back in 1999. i was 15 years old and i had just discovered that i had a more-than-just-passable singing voice. i didn’t sing much prior to this but after a few days with my classmates i was known as the girl with a clear crystalline voice. (naks! nagbubuhat ba ako ng sariling bangko? seriously, this was what someone wrote about me on our “year”book.) at that time i didn’t know who wrote the song or the proper title, i just sang it. i sang the soprano part of the arrangement and had some classmates sing the alto and bass parts. since then, and i was able to google it to learn the title of the song and the artist. there are times i’m even tempted to buy the sheet music for the choral accapella arrangement of this song online but then i realize i don’t have a choir and i don’t think i’ll be able to convince any of my friends to learn it with me just for kicks. the melody and lyrics of this song have remained with me since the first time i heard it and perhaps someday i’ll be able to sing my baby to sleep with it.

this is one of the nice choral performances of this song that i found in youtube.

 

 
Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel)
Billy Joel

Goodnight, my angel
Time to close your eyes
And save these questions for another day
I think I know what you’ve been asking me
I think you know what I’ve been trying to say
I promised I would never leave you
And you should always know
Wherever you may go
No matter where you are
I never will be far away

Goodnight, my angel
Now it’s time to sleep
And still so many things I want to say
Remember all the songs you sang for me
When we went sailing on an emerald bay
And like a boat out on the ocean
I’m rocking you to sleep
The water’s dark and deep
Inside this ancient heart
You’ll always be a part of me

Lu-lu-lu-lu-lu-lu
lu-lu-lu-lu-lu-lu-lu-lu-lu

Goodnight, my angel
Now it’s time to dream
And dream how wonderful your life will be
Someday your child may cry
And if you sing this lullabye
Then in your heart
There will always be a part of me

Someday we’ll all be gone
But lullabyes go on and on…
They never die
That’s how you
And I
Will be