My Best Friend’s Wedding (1997)

Starring: Julia Roberts, Dermot Mulroney, Rupert Everett, Cameron Diaz
Director: P.J. Hogan
Tagline: A comedy about finding your heart and losing your head.

i remember getting teary-eyed when first watching this movie. when the boat they’re on passes under the bridge and neither of them say “i love you” to the other and sunlight finally shines through you know the moment has indeed passed them by. deep inside you’re rooting for julianne (julia roberts) to say those words to him but she doesn’t. and then they dance to their song while michael (dermot mulroney) sings it. awwww…

this is a movie i’ve watched more than 20 times i think. i just stopped counting. i love so many lines from this movie.

Kimmy Wallace: He’s got you on a pedestal and me in his arms.

George Downes: It’s amazing the clarity that comes with psychotic jealousy.

George Downes: Tell him you love him. Bite the bullet.

Julianne Potter: This is my one chance at happiness. I have to be ruthless!

Julianne Potter: Michael… I love you. I’ve loved you for nine years, I’ve just been too arrogant and scared to realize it, and… well, now I’m just scared. So, I realize this comes at a very inopportune time but I really have this gigantic favor to ask of you. Choose me. Marry me. Let me make you happy. Oh, that sounds like three favors, doesn’t it?

George Downes: Michael’s chasing Kimmy?
Julianne Potter: Yes!
George Downes: You’re chasing Michael?
Julianne Potter: YES!
George Downes: Who’s chasing you… nobody, get it? There’s your answer. It’s Kimmy.

Julianne Potter: If he were feeling what I’m feeling then he would know how it feels.

Julianne Potter: I’m pond scum. Well, lower actually. I’m like the fungus that feeds on pond scum.
Michael O’Neill: Lower. The pus that infects the mucus that cruds up the fungus that feeds on the pond scum. On the other hand, thank you for loving me that much, that way. It’s pretty flattering.
Julianne Potter: Except it makes me fungus.

hahaha. that’s a lot of favorite lines, huh? well, i love this movie. 😉