Roman Holiday (1953)

Director: William Wyler
Starring: Gregory Peck, Audrey Hepburn

this is my favorite audrey hepburn movie. she won the best actress oscar for this.

after watching this you may be thinking, how can that be romantic? despite that there were lots of people in the room with the two of them, the way they both express how they feel with their eyes is devastating and heartbreaking. that scene where peck walks away alone in an almost empty hall is something that has haunted me since i first watched this movie.

i wanted to post another scene, the parting scene but unfortunately the video was taken out of youtube. 😥 anyway, here are the famous quotes from that scene:

Princess Ann: I have to leave you now. I’m going to that corner there and turn. You must stay in the car and drive away. Promise not to watch me go beyond the corner. Just drive away and leave me as I leave you.
Joe Bradley: All right.
Princess Ann: I don’t know how to say goodbye. I can’t think of any words.
Joe Bradley: Don’t try.
 

here is another famous scene from this movie:

when we were in rome, my sister and i made it a point to look for the mouth of truth. we went traipsing around rome by ourselves just to find it! we both have a picture putting our hands in, and you can see in my expression that i was terrified that i would have my hand cut off. :))