and apparently i’m influencing my friends. actually, my sister revived my love for poetry by counting down her 70 favorite poems. she’s not done yet though. i’ve discovered new amazing poems from her and have been forwarding it to friends. now a few of them are telling me that they’re really getting into poetry too. mel told me she’s looking for a good poetry book. (mel, i’ll ask my sister then get back to you) kim has posted a few of the poems i sent her on her blog. jaybee is trying to write again. it’s amazing how one person can influence so many others. and this is all because my sister decided to count down her favorite poems. 😀

so here i go again with my favorite lines from some of my sister’s favorite poems…

Truth is: love’s hard to live with.
~ The Muse This Time by R Zamora Linmark

my previous post contains the other line i loved from this poem. i have to admit the first time my sister posted it, i just passed through it. but then i read it again recently and i was dumbstruck. i think i was just staring into my screen soon after reading it. 🙂

Live or die, but don’t poison everything…

I say Live, Live because of the sun,
the dream, the excitable gift.

~ Live by Anne Sexton

that first line is amazingly good advice.

Let’s face it, I have been momentary.

I give you back your heart.
I give you permission—

As for me, I am watercolor.
I wash off.

~ For My Lover Returning to His Wife by Anne Sexton

uhm, no comment? joke lang. i’m not in an adulterous relationship so this technically does not pertain to me but right now i feel like watercolor.

Love is a shadow.
How you lie and cry after it.
Listen: these are its hooves: it has gone off, like a horse.

~ Elm by Sylvia Plath