my sister has been counting down her favorite poems recently and i’d just like to share a few lines that really struck me.

Don’t listen to me; my heart’s been broken.
I don’t see anything objectively.

That’s why I’m not to be trusted.
Because a wound to the heart
Is also a wound to the mind.

~ from The Untrustworthy Speaker by Louise Gluck

i love this. i think it’s natural to ask advice from friends regarding your love life. but then we have to remember the fact that they may be biased too by whatever may have happened to them in the past. at least she is honest in saying that she may no longer see anything objectively because her heart has already been broken. read the rest of the poem, it’s really beautiful. she captures the feeling of numbness some of us get sometimes.

I really don’t know what I love you means  
I think it means don’t leave me here alone 

~ from Dark Sonnet by Neil Gaiman

shet! tagos ba?

yours is the light by which my spirit’s born:
yours is the darkness of my soul’s return
–you are my sun,my moon,and all my stars

~ from Silently If Out Of Not Knowable by ee cummings

it would be nice to have some guy tell me this someday. 😉

You were in love, you wanted out of a city that screamed abandonment.

~ from Disappear by Conchita Cruz

enough said.