jencarps sent me this song this morning and from the first time i heard it, i loved it. you all know i love my painfully beautiful songs about unrequited love right? what is it about unrequited love that’s so attractive to me? you might ask. well, i always seem to end up in this predicament… where i’m falling for a guy who doesn’t feel the same way about me.

what makes this song so different from the anthem for unrequited love, On My Own? well, in On My Own, eponine sings about her love for marius. she sings that even though she knows he doesn’t return her feelings for him (without me, his world will go on turning, a world that’s full of happiness that i have never known)  that she still imagines his arms around her (without him, i feel his arms around me).

This song is from the musical Wicked. I haven’t watched this musical yet but I’ve listened to some of the music and I’m reading the book right now. In this song, elphaba is giving herself a reality check. it still is a song about unrequited love. she acknowledges that she has feelings for this boy but that he has feelings for someone else. and so she tells herself to stay grounded, to be realistic…

Don’t dream too far
Don’t lose sight of who you are
Don’t remember that rush of joy

Ev’ry so often we long to steal
To the land of what-might-have-been
But that doesn’t soften the ache we feel
When reality sets back in

Don’t wish, don’t start
Wishing only wounds the heart

i guess what hurts most in situations like these is when the guy you “love”, “loves” someone else. and you end up asking yourself, what does she have that i don’t? but that’s pointless.

She who’s winsome, she wins him.

There’s a girl I know
He loves her so
I’m not that girl

now all I have to do is follow elphaba’s advice. goodluck sa akin! hehehe.

jen, thanks so much for this song! :*

o, gusto mo na ba i-download?! hehehe… I’m Not That Girl