eternal-sunshine.jpg

Tagline: You can erase someone from your mind. Getting them out of your heart is another story.
Awards: Best Writing, Original Screenplay (Charlie Kaufman, Michel Gondry, Pierre Bismuth)

i’ve been wanting to watch this movie again after super hyping it to jong. and i was able to watch it again last night! i didn’t care that i was too tired already… i just knew i had to watch it asap.

it’s this beautiful story about moving on and letting go. there are times during the end of a relationship that you just want to forget everything. thus begins the ritual of cutting off his face from pictures, hiding stuff that could remind you of him and eventually returning gifts you’ve ever gotten from him. not that this has ever happened to me. these moments i experience vicariously through friends and movies.

but you get what i mean right? sometimes you just want to wake up and not be tormented by memories of your past. and this is exactly how one of the lead characters felt. joel, played by jim carrey, just wants to move on from his tumultuous relationship with clementine, played by kate winslet, who he learns has already erased him from her memory. he then contracts the inventor of the process to have clementine removed from his own memory as well. but as his memories progressively disappear, he begins to rediscover their earlier passion. from deep within the recesses of his brain, he attempts to escape the procedure.

that for me is the turning point in the plot. when joel realizes that erasing ALL his memories of clementine would mean erasing ALL his memories, the bad memories and also the good ones. when the doctor’s crew start erasing the good memories of clementine, joel realizes that he doesn’t want to forget anymore. so he tries to run. but he couldn’t.

and it’s just so beautiful the way this movie was done. the screenplay. the acting. the music. when watching it you get the feeling that you’re in joel’s head and you feel his pain and desperation. this is the only movie to date where i actually liked jim carrey’s acting. kate winslet is amazing, as usual.

here are a few scenes that i loved… (yes! i downloaded the screenplay! hehehe.)

CLEMENTINE
Joel, I’m not a concept. I want you to just keep that in your head. Too many guys think I’m a concept or I complete them or I’m going to make them alive, but I’m just a fucked-up girl who is looking for my own peace of mind. Don’t assign me yours.

~~~

CLEMENTINE (eyes welling)
This is it, Joel. It’s gonna be gone soon.
JOEL
I know.
CLEMENTINE
What do we do?
JOEL
Enjoy it. Say goodbye.

~~~ 

CLEMENTINE (impatiently)
What, Joel? What do you want?
JOEL (at a loss)
I don’t know.
(pause)
Just wait. I just want you to wait for a while.
They lock eyes for a long moment: Clementine stone-faced, Joel with a worried, knit brow. Clementine cracks up.
CLEMENTINE
Okay.
JOEL
Really?
CLEMENTINE
I’m not a concept, Joel. I’m just a fucked-up girl who is looking for my own peace of mind. I’m not perfect.
JOEL
I can’t think of anything I don’t like about you right now.
CLEMENTINE
But you will. You will think of things. And I’ll get bored with you and feel trapped because that’s what happens with me.
JOEL
Okay.
CLEMENTINE
Okay.

th-cn-138-18r.jpg